Days 23 and 24

Day 23 – Drambon to St Nicholas Les Citeaux

The day was a lot cloudier today which I appreciated, started with an easy and flat stretch of stunning forest which meant 8 miles bagged in just over an hour, happy days. As the day progressed my IT band loosened up from the day before which was also great news. Went past some stunning houses and villages but the main feature is the woodlands, mile upon mile of it, great for piling in the miles and very quiet roads.

The route I am using really is wonderful, details of it can be found on my site. Got finished on a road with rolling hills and more trees, really enjoying the secluded nature of this part of France. Went to Tournus for dinner at night and I had some red wine from the region, it was amazing and so was the food, so much so that I booked me and Ian in to stay there this weekend.

Day 24 – St Nicholas Les Citeaux to Chagny

Today was a later start than usual, about 10 50am as the b and b was 45 miles from the finish point, worth the drive as it is stunningly beautiful in a small place called Beesse Sur Grosne. I felt stiff for about the first half mile but then I put in my fastest 15k of the entire trip which was 1hr 21mins, not fast by usual standards but after 23 marathons I think pretty steady.

At 20k mark I was in the huge wine region of Beaune, I ran amongst the vines, up rolling hills and amongst true French people making their living off of the land. There are so many small family houses selling their own wine which is so reasonably priced I will have to buy a bucket load. We have vowed to drive back there on Saturday to get some!

The day finished well with my 3rd fastest time on the trip, 4hr 21mins, a far cry from the usual PB but this is not a race. As I said on twitter, the body is amazing and so is the mind, I have a strong body but without the mental strength then I would have packed up long ago. Same goes for anything we do in life which is difficult, I will never give up on my dream no matter where that takes me. Nearly halfway, easy does it!

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Route and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days 23 and 24

  1. Hey Mark, just wanted to say hi and congrats so far. I’ve been following you on Twitter and think what you’re dong is really inspiring! I totally agree that a big part of any endurance event is mental – the body can normally cope with a lot more than we think it can, so long as we allow it to try!

    Oh, and 4:21 is awesome for the 24th consecutive matharon in a row! Keep it up, and good luck with the second half!

  2. Hey Mark, just wanted to say hi and congrats so far. I’ve been following you on Twitter and think what you’re dong is really inspiring! I totally agree that a big part of any endurance event is mental – the body can normally cope with a lot more than we think it can, so long as we allow it to try!
    +1

Leave a Reply

