Days 27 and 28

Day 27 – Macon to Lurcy

For the first time in a couple of weeks I woke up a little stiff, probably had something to do with pushing to hard the previous day! As usual though I got my head in the correct place and into the zone and gave myself my daily pep talk in my head and I set off.

There were hills from the off but I found them no problem as I ran up and over them time and time again. I have really begun to appreciate the beauty of my surroundings even more the last few days so I sat for a minute on my own up on one of the many hills and took everything in, it was a special moment that I will always remember.

Then there were some navigational problems with the maps but after putting my head together with team member Ian we sorted it all out. As I finished I grabbed my Protein shake and daily can of Coke (yeah that’s right I have one coke a day) and started my stretching routine.

Across the street were a couple of roofers, I approached them to give them a flyer each which is In French, they informed me that they were Spanish, ‘uno momento’ I said and grabbed the Spanish version of my flyer, they looked amazed at the multilingual information on offer, I waved goodbye and we headed to our accommodation high in the region of Rhone, had a lovely 3 course dinner with the owners of the property and then an early bed.

Day 28 – Lurcy to Pollionnay

This morning we had a very early start, usually my marathons have begun at 10am but we were on the road by 9am today. I was flying and before long had managed the magic 16 miles, I push for that stage in the marathon then its a lot easier since the mileage is in single digits.

There were lots of hills today including one which was 600 metres at 15 per cent gradient (steep) but again I flew over them, I really feel that I am the fittest I have or ever will be in my life, it is a truly indescribable feeling to believe that you can run anywhere in the world and not tire (maybe I’m getting carried away, haha).

At the end of the day we headed to a couple of b and b’s which were fully booked and ended up in a hotel which had an outdoors swimming pool, despite it being a cold day we leaped in, beats an ice bath any day! The French must have thought we were mad but we are Scottish so can handle any temperature, I have scuba dived in December in the snow in Loch Long so this was a breeze πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Route and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Days 27 and 28

  1. Annie says:

    Mark I’ve been following your progress on Twitter for a while now but I didn’t know about this blog. It’s great to put a face to a name and thanks for taking “uno momento” to share your journey with us.

    All the best,

    Annie

Leave a Reply

