Paleo(lithic) Diet

I am currently trying to lose 6kg in weight so I can be at my ideal race weight. I think this will be an easy task as I maintain a high training level at all times. So if I cut the not so good foods out then the weight should drop off.

The question I have been asking myself is whether or not to go with a specific diet or to just eat clean and stick to fruit, veg and lean meat.

From research I have found mixed reviews on most diets out there, the majority of which tend to lose weight rapidly but mostly due to water loss than actual fat loss.

There is one that is supposed to be different from most diets…I am considering having a shot at the Paleo Diet

The Paleo Diet is often referred to as the Cavemen Diet or Hunter Gatherer Diet. This appeals to me as it cuts out all man made and pre prepared foods.

Its all about organic and fresh ingredients which is what we should all be eating according to leading experts.

On the other hand it is extremely strict, to name a few it means cutting out grains, starches, refined sugars (a barron Christmas is in store!), legumes (beans, peas, peanuts), dairy and most oils.

Jennie Brand-Miller – A succsesful author of nutritional books writes that….

“The Paleo Diet is at once revolutionary and intuitive…. Its prescription provides without a doubt the most nutritious diet on the planet. Beautifully written, The Paleo Diet takes us from the theory to the day-to-day practice of the native human diet.”

But at the same time the diet does not take into account the individual needs of modern day people. Our ancestors would have lived an entirely different lifestyle to what we enjoy in the modern world. Also with no dairy products allowed calcium intake would drop radically.

Anyone ever tried this diet or any other ones?

If so, id love to hear your experiences.

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paleo(lithic) Diet

  1. runningfairy says:

    Mark,

    After becoming a veggie for about a year, completely by accident I came across a woman who’d given an amazing seminar on the power of a raw food diet. I ended up being raw for three months, my energy levels were through the roof and my (Bikram yoga) training got better and better. Unfortunately I wasn’t running at the time, so I wouldn’t know how it would effect distance running BUT I’m confident you could get enough calorie dense food with a bit of planning.

    Heres the brief blog post I wrote of the summary of my experience
    http://www.runningfairy.com/2010/09/rawness-running.html
    it’ll have some worthwhile links on there to check out too that cross over with the paleo diet too.

    It takes discipline and motivation (both of which you have heaps of) so I’d love to know how you get on with it. I’m certainly aiming to clean up the nutrition for Brighton too.

  2. Sarah Dempster says:

    Hi Mark

    The paleo diet seems to be everywhere at the moment and, intrigued by all the paleo evangelists out there, I decided to give it a try. Being a vegetarian, I didn’t last long. I’ve written a few blog posts about it at: http://eatrunandbehappy.blogspot.com/search/label/the%20paleo%20diet with links to research and websites on the subject.

    If you do decide to go paleo, you’re probably better off following Joe Friel and Loren Cordain’s Paleo Diet for Athletes, which allows some carbohydrate to fuel your running. Most people on paleo diets focus on strength training and short burst of high intensity running – the diet is not ideal for high volumes of endurance training.

    There are of course other less extreme ways to lose weight, but different things work for different people.

    Good luck!

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

