Stopping Smoking

It was 4 years ago to the day that I stopped smoking

Disclaimer – Do not worry I am not going to preach or shout health warning at you, just wanted to share what is a very special day for me.

I remember the day well, I was hungover (again) and on my 11th cigarette of the day (before lunchtime) when a man ran past me in the street, all I could think was “I want to be like him.”

Problem was I LOVED smoking, I loved the taste, the feel and everything about it.

I dropped the smokes that very day and went cold turkey.

I decided to try and run home from work the next day, I left work at 5pm and roughly 90 seconds later I was doubled over unable to move, a sobering reminder to the damage I had done to my body.

I stuck with it and after a while the cravings disappeared. I have never touched a cigarette since that day. It wasnt easy and Im sure I was a shit to live with but I got there. I would not be writing this blog if I hadnt kicked it.

This change marked a new chapter in my life and I am delighted that I can share it with you as I celebrate my fourth year without the tabs.

Since stopping I have achieved some things that I could not have before so it is definately the best decision I ever took and one which I am proud of.

Good luck to you if you are trying to stop or thinking of doing so.

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

