Not getting what you want from your life? Why?

I get contacted by people asking for help or advice on setting up expeditions or training for endurance events. Im not an expert but I try to guide people in the direction that worked for me.

A lot of the emails that I recieve have a common theme, a theme not of envy but of disbelief that I was priviliged enough to run solidly for two months. I often hear “I hate my job.” or “I wish I could do what you did.”

The truth of the matter is that two years ago I would have been that person saying “I wish!” So what happened?

Sometimes it is hard to know where your going, dont be afraid to ask for help

Well the answer is simply, I got my finger out, I set a goal and got on with it. There is no time like today, live is short, so is your health and youth. If you have a dream or goal go for it. A favourite quote of mines is “You’ll only regret the chances you never take.”

So what is stopping people from doing what they want with their life? 

For people to do their best at something they need to have two things, an aptitude for the activity and passion. Without passion you can be good at something but you will never be satisfied doing it. A Friend of mines plays guitar, brilliantly I might add but everytime he comes off stage he says that he never enjoyed playing. This applies to a large number of people in their everyday lives.

There are also people who love what they do, so much that they couldnt imagine doing anything else. This is because its not what they do, its who they are. The trick is to find out what that passion is and pursue it with everything you can. Some people dont realise their dreams until they are well on in life.

I read a story about a man from Canada, he and his wife had been in a car accident, the car had tipped over and his wife badly injured. As the car settled he realised his Wife was seriously injured, without thinking he accessed his memory of the first aid course his work had sent him on, he managed to keep his Wife stable until the emergency services arrived. In the end she survived thanks to his quick thinking.

You are probably wondering why im telling you this, well the man ended up training to be a nurse, he discovered his talent and passion in the most unlikely circumstances. I guess what im saying is, if you are wondering what your goal in life is, stick with it, its sure to crop up at some point and quite possibly from the strangest of situations. Just hopefully not a near fatal car accident!

Good luck searching

www.runwithmark.com

All directions are an opportunity to grow and learn no matter the outcome

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
Aside | This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not getting what you want from your life? Why?

  1. Great stuff Mark, we hope you can encourage others to find their passion. And if it’s running too we can certainly help them with hydration!

    Eden Springs water coolers, proud supporters of Run with Mark.

    • Mark Cooper says:

      Great stuff guys, ive got a friend doing 26 marathons in 26 days this year, maybe looking for some hydration, think you can help at all? M

Leave a Reply

