Why do you Run/Challenge yourself?

I decided to ask some people on Twitter to tell me why they choose to run/challenge themselves or enter races.

The answers were very interesting but all had a common theme running through them…..

Below are some of the answers, if you like the sound of them and are on Twitter then please follow them as they take on their own personal challenge.

@52MarathonMan – I’m running 52 marathons this year to challenge myself and to challenge the stigma around suicide.

@sonnywinstonMDS – Lost Mum to cancer in 09 decided to raise money for @CR_UK and lose the belly. Fundraising going well, sometimes miss belly.

@com160 – 95 mile whw race june 18th. every othere race is just training for it. Reason: to prove to myself that I can.

@MrBumpBDP – My 4th London marathon dressed as one if the Mr Men!!! For children with leukaemia.

@DavidHTRI – first and foremost, I love to race. Then getting to Kona someday is a the ultimate goal.

@RhinoMittens – “I race to push the boundaries of what I can do and how far I can go; to find out what I’m capable of.”

@LittleBismark –  Running releases the happy hormone, keeps you fit and gets you into the great outdoors.

@SillysJogle – To run and challenge urself to do the best u can and discover more than u thought u had.

@Runner786 –  running is everything my body is built for , to naturally move over the planet I live on ,I love it.

@Alannevertoold – Self propelled motion gives me a buzz. Also I think its my my mid-life crises !!

@JuliaArmstrong – I run because running is me, my soul expression, me in motion, my dream now and always is to run.

@CatrionaWelsh – Training for Edin marathon, May 2011. First postbaby marathon and hoping to re-discover pre-baby form (after 3 kids in 4 years).

@RobFrodsham – i run to find my limits then continue to push beyond. Only then i can discover my true self

@P2P2011 – P2P=to raise money, expectations, eyebrows, awareness, spirits. to concur fears, mountains, distance, time, europe.to come home.

@Square2Square – because always need a challenge-half marathon no longer gave me that/want to know how far I can push my body!

@Ian9657 –  I run for enjoyment, for camaraderie and because my sister, who died of Motor Neurone Disease, can no longer run.

@Kaz_Wright – getting out of my comfort zone!!!

@smithers1980 – wanted to challenge myself after giving up smoking for 15 years. Marathon next target!

@Jamescycle –  The three forts half marathon and Box Hill marathon. Why? Because my feet are telling me i have to.

@Cobb79 –  To prove to myself I can do it, a sense of achievement & to get fit- maybe a marathon one day!

@AliBali61 –  I’m running City2Surf to prove although I turn 50 this year I can apply myself to run 14k faster than last year.

Charity, testing boundaries, Friendship and Adventure

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why do you Run/Challenge yourself?

  1. Tod says:

    Serious enthusiast of your website, quite a few your posts have really helped me out. Looking forward to posts!

  2. Rosie Moth says:

    love this! how about… tangible evidence of your amazingness? that’s what works for me. 🙂

  3. Naff as it sounds I run and challenge myself because I can andy to see just what my limit is. Im still searching

  4. helen says:

    I run to deal with depression and an anxiety disorder in a healthy, drug free way 🙂

Leave a Reply

