40 Mile Trainin Run Nutrition – Its not that Complex

I ran a 40 mile training run on Friday (4th March) and upon finishing was asked by a lot of people about who I ate, drank before, during and after the run.

The thing is, you dont have to eat or drink as much as you think to complete long runs.

For example;

Thursday night for my dinner I had some chicken dippers with brocolli and potatoes. Not a huge portion just a normal one. I woke up on Friday morning at 8am and had the following….

1x Cup of Coffee (Caffeine can improve performance if it is taken in the right amounts, too much can dehydrate you)

500mls of Water

500mls of Orbana Healthy Energy Drink

and 1 supermarket own brand cereal bar

That was all that I had, I didnt need another drink of my Orbana until I reached mile 13. I took a 9 Bar with me just incase I fancied a snack (i only ate 1/3 of it)

I am always amazed when I see people running in a 5km race carrying a water bottle, you dont need any water if you start a race of 5 or 10km if your already hydrated (obviously this is heat dependent, if your running in the desert then this changes things slightly)

If you arent hydrated before a race then there is no point in turning up at all as you wont perform to your maximum abilities.

In terms of my fluid intake I drank 500mls of Orbana and 250mls of water. That was it on a 5hr 45minute run.

Afterwards I made sure I drank some recovery drinks, no need for expensive items here, Cherry Active & Chocolate Milk does the trick and is a fraction of the cost.

I then ate some pasta with marscapone sauce and tuna, high carbs, high protein.
Endurance nutrition doesnt need to be so complex and you can usually get everything you need from the supermarket.

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40 Mile Trainin Run Nutrition – Its not that Complex

  1. Tim Moss says:

    Couldn’t agree more Mark. Very easy to think that you need lots of complicated (read: expensive) supplements and what-not for a run when, of course, you don’t.

    Hope you enjoyed the run.

  2. Simon says:

    Mark,

    Interesting post. I agree with you that there is a lot of mumbo-jumbo around nutrition, mainly touted about by the companies who have a huge financial interest in selling over-priced drinks of questionable value. I ran a few ultras before deciding to focus on the marathon and my nutrition whilst running was a bagel cut into quarters, a cereal bar, some honey (yep, honey!) and water. On one of the runs that was really cold one of my supporters brought a flask of hot blackcurrant. Simple!

    However I am slightly worried about your cannibalistic tendencies: [quote] “…people about who I ate, drank before…” WHO you ate?

Leave a Reply

