Bring on the Revolution!

It has been a while since my last post, in truth it is because I’ve been busy and a little bit lazy.

Getting into a lazy routine is easy to do in the 21st Century, there are more distractions than ever before, iPhones, online games consoles, social media and ipods are the newest forms of distraciton. We live in a technological age where flashing lights are everywhere to distract us from whats really important.

I am as guilty as anyone for watching television and wasting time (although thats not really possible) but it usually comes to a head, this results in a panic on my part and usually some crazy plan/scheme to break out of the situation I find myself in.

Countless times I have been lying in bed on a Sunday watching the box to suddenly be panic sticken at how I am letting my time slip by, time after all is surely the most important thing to all of us.

Its easy to think at these moments that life is outwith our control but the key thing to remember is this…….

I had been living a Niagara Falls lifestyle up until 2007, by this I mean I jumped in the river and went where the current took me, when I came to a fork in the river I never made a choice, I went with the flow. This was ok up until a point, eventually I woke up and just in time, I was about to go over the edge of the waterfall. I panicked and made a decision to change my life.

Decisions are funny, the amount of times I have said “I want to be a massage therapist”, “I want to go to University” or “I want to spend more time outdoors” these arent decisions, they are desires, weak prayers. This time I made a decision to change my life, that decision was to stop smoking and get fit.

Small changes make small results but its a start, so how about a new way of thinking? Instead of watching pointless television programmes like X Factor for example, lets cut down a little and realise that life is short.

While you are young especially its a gift to be healthy, theres plenty of time to sit down and watch the world go by in your golden years, id like to look back on my youth and think that I lived it to its maximum potential. You dont have to travel the world, complete enormous challenges to do this just change small things one at a time.

Bring on the revolution!

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bring on the Revolution!

  1. Malcolm says:

    Yep, it’s time to take the power back 🙂 Oh, and don’t panic Mark.

  2. Davie Bell says:

    Bang on ! I tend to live by the motto …… I’m not here for a long time , just here for a good time!

    Davie

Leave a Reply

