The Trip to Remember

I opened my email last week to find one sitting in there from Australian Ocean rower and all round inspiration Margaret Bowling It was entitled, “Last call for Applications.”

I opened it curiously to find that it was a call for people to join a challenge. Not a running challenge but a cycling/rowing and hiking one.

45 miles of cycling, 90 miles of rowing and 15 miles of hiking all within 36 hours! Madness but I like it.

Having hammered over 4,500 miles of running out in the past 16 months I quite liked the sound of this, my favourite quote is as follows…..

“Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered you will never grow.”

Not that I think for one second I have mastered anything, let along running but it did excite me to think about a new direction in my training and the prospect of giving my legs a bit of a rest from the pounding. Also, being part of something so unique with the great team behind it is very appealing to me.

The “Trip to Remember” sounds like one of the toughest challenges around and I am really looking forward to it.

The basic outline is as follows…..

Starting on July 9th a team of 15 selected crew members will head to Wales and travel to Dublin where we will attempt to cycle 45 miles from Dublin to Arklow. Upon arriving in Arklow we will board a rowing boat and cross the Irish Sea back to Porthmadog in Wales, an overnight crossing which could take up to 16 hours. Upon arriving in Wales we will then hike 15 miles through Snowdonia national park to the top of Snowdon.

Three disciplines, covering 150 miles, within 36 hours!

I am delighted to have been accepted onto the team and look forward to the challenges that training and the expedition itself will throw up.

For more info see here…..

The Trip to Remember Website

The Irish Sea

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in fundraising, Media Coverage, Personal, Training, Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Trip to Remember

  1. All round inspiration hey? Keep the compliments coming! Can’t wait for this weekend. It’s certainly shaping up to be one of the most challenging trips in the UK at the moment, and what a team to be doing it with. I can’t believe who we’ve managed to recruit, yourself included Mark.

Leave a Reply

