Edinburgh Marathon Madness Challenge

The Edinburgh Marathon is taking place on Sunday 22nd May this year and I am very excited about taking part in it for the first time.

I was approached by Alistair Currie of Jog Scotland to ask if I would be interested in running all 4 races over the weekend.

After sorting out logistics of how I would get back from the end of the half marathon to the start of the full one, I decided to jump at the opportunity because that is what it is a huge opportunity.

Nobody has ever run all 4 races and it will be so cool to look back and have all four medals from the weekend.

Logistics are still being sorted out but as it stands, i believe the 5k and 10k will be easy enough to sort on the Saturday but the Sunday is the real problem.

The half marathon starts at 9am and the full marathon at 11am, that means I will have to run the Half marathon in say 1hr 30mins, which is ok but then i have to get on a motorbike and be driven back to the start of the full marathon for 11am. Ill probably have two minutes then off ill go taking on the marathon.

Its going to be a tough slog but what an honour, i feel very proud to be able to do this in my hometown and cant wait ofr the weekend to arrive.

I am doing this for a great cause, in fact, i am doing all of my challenges this year for the same cause www.fundingneuro.co.uk

Wobbly Williams

For anyone who suffers or knows someone who suffers from Parkinsons, check out

www.wobblywilliams.com a great resource and your chance to get involved in a wonderful cause, top banter is promised.

You can sponsor me by texting – “MCTA11 followed by either £2, £5 or £10 to 70070, the easiest way to donate by far.

Or visit www.justgiving.com/runwithmark to make more substaitial donations and leave a good luck message, this is where you will also find a full list of my 2011 challenges.

Thanks!
Mark of the Try-Athletes for Wobbly Williams – www.try-athletes.com

Here is a video of the Try-Athletes from the recent Womens 10k in Glasgow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-LUcCLQo_Q

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in charity, fundraising, Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Edinburgh Marathon Madness Challenge

  1. WiredCause says:

    Wow, what a brilliant opportunity. 4 marathons seems like a lot but I can see you doing it all with no problems. There’s nothing like running past the castle on Prince St towards the Mile. I assume you’re not running up Arthur’s Seat :-p

    And I really like the cause that you are supporting so I hope you will raise enough money to support this great cause. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

