Mini-Adventure this Friday Night

I have been thinking about going on an adventure that basically involves leaving the rat race at 5pm with basic supplies, walking all night then sleeping on top of a hill. It will probably be a cold night which means I will once again have to spoon Matt for warmth We go on adventures quite often together and have become accustomed to each anothers routines.

Well the talk is over and I have decided that this Friday 24th February is to be the night that it finally happens. I am pretty exicted about this, I am sure it won’t be everything I imagine and ill probably wish for bed long before I get home but isnt that the point? To get outside of your comfort zone and appreciate it more when you step back into it?

At the moment the logistics are pretty much unknown, one thing is clear, somebody will be getting their arse cheeks used for warmth and quite possibly a dribble of pee will be spilt as there is NO WAY that i’m going out in that weather to do the toilet. I read once that Bear Grylls used to do a number 2 in tin foil and wrap it up then use it for heat…..that definately will NOT be happening.

We will leave our day job at 5pm on Friday and walk until around 5am, so roughly 12hrs, no distance in mind just to enjoy the outdoors and the company. We will then pitch our tent and sleep for a couple of hours up on top of a mountain somewhere.

I know you are asking why someone would do this? Well why not? I cant afford to go to a far flung country for an adventure, nor do I have the time at the moment so I’ll find a mini expedition right here on my doorstep.

Just because I work a full time office job and have other life commitments doesnt mean that I shouldn’t go on an adventure.

This whole idea of “Micro-Adventures” was started by @al_humphreys (currently rowing the Atlantic I might add) see here – Alistair Humphreys

Will be tweeting throughout the evening on Friday using the hash tag of #NightWalk

Photos and a follow up blog will follow on www.runwithmark.com
Thanks for the support,
Mark and Matt

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mini-Adventure this Friday Night

  1. Love the adventure stuff, I’m doing a few mini or micro-adventures of my own this year. Can’t beat a good bit of gett away from it all stuff. BUT… I’m glad you’re not following Mr Grylls ‘heat advice’ I’ve spent years ‘outdoors’ in several different parts of the world and NEVER used poo to stay warm. Cheeks and spoons yes, poo no!

  2. How did it go, guys?

Leave a Reply

