I am running again!

I got my running mojo back!

I ran the Highland Fling Ultra in April 2012 and since them I haven’t run another race, I made this decision on purpose, in three years I ran nearly 9,000 miles and when my body and mind decided it needed a rest I had to oblige.
It is with great delight that I have started running again and have a load of exciting races planned for 2013, the sad part is that whilst I used to be able to string together 6 minutes miles on road now I am struggling to piece together 7min 30sec miles, this will improve though, I am sure.

Despite this I have given a new approach to my running, no longer will I strap my garmin to my wrist and hold it close like it’s some priceless piece of kit, no longer will I worry about what my resting hear rate is and even more boring that that, my VO2 Max levels, this wasn’t why I started running back in 2008, I started to stop smoking, get a sense of what I was about and to see new places whilst meeting new people.

So in 2013 that’s exactly what I am going to do, I have signed up to several races that I have never done before, it starts in March with the Endurance Life ultra in Northumberland, it’s part of their great Coastal Trail Series, it’ll be refreshing for me to do a set of new races which prevents things from going stale.

I will return to the Highland Fling in April for one reason, it’s the best race I have ever taken part in, a great day out and truly challenging.

Then I will take huge pride in running the Paris Marathon with my Girlfriend, she hasn’t run a marathon before so it’s going to be a special trip for us both as we are staying together for the entire run.

In May I get to enter Maggie’s monster bike and hike with my colleagues at Maggie’s, this will be another special event for me.

What does everyone else have one for running this year and has anyone else decided to take a break from running? I’d be interested to hear what your plans are for 2013

I have a list of all 2013’s challenges on my personal website, feel free to check the events out – CLICK HERE

All the best

Mark

About Mark Cooper

My name is Mark Cooper, I am an ultra runner, motivational speaker, expedition consultant and public relations rookie. I help people achieve greatness in their lives. For bookings or more information you can email mark@runwithmark.com
This entry was posted in Personal, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am running again!

  1. Simon Hodge says:

    Funny to read that just now as I just started back to running today! I took part in the mourne mountain marathon in September and then ran once more a week or two after that. My wife and I just had our 3rd baby a few weeks ago so I have no grand plans this year, just feels great to be out again. Hope you have a very enjoyable year. Look forward to hearing about it.

  2. julesperoxes says:

    Great to read that you’re back all refreshed and adventure ahoy! I only have one real adventure with running this year – after 4 years of trying I’ve finally got a London marathon place! I’m training hard for it, even though really I know its all about the day and the atmosphere…not the times! Will keep following the blog!! How’s the band?

Leave a Reply

